EM Validation Task Force

Method-specific Validation Task Forces have been convened to collect recommendations and develop consensus on additional validation that should be performed, and to identify software applications to perform validation tasks.

The initial meeting of the Electron Microscopy Validation Task Force (EM VTF) was held on September 28-29, 2010 and was organized by EMDataBank, Unified Data Resource for 3DEM. Twenty highly regarded EM scientists assembled at Rutgers University to consider possible validation standards for 3D maps and models produced by electron microscopy reconstruction methods. The 2-day workshop was co-chaired by Richard Henderson (MRC, Cambridge) for map validation and Andrej Sali (UCSF) for model validation. Their report has now been published:

Outcome of the First Electron Microscopy Validation Task Force Meeting,
Richard Henderson, Andrej Sali, Matthew L. Baker, Bridget Carragher, Batsal Devkota, Kenneth H. Downing, Edward H. Egelman, Zukang Feng, Joachim Frank, Nikolaus Grigorieff, Wen Jiang, Steven J. Ludtke, Ohad Medalia, Pawel A. Penczek, Peter B. Rosenthal, Michael G. Rossmann, Michael F. Schmid, Gunnar F. Schröder, Alasdair C. Steven, David L. Stokes, John D. Westbrook, Willy Wriggers, Huanwang Yang, Jasmine Young, Helen M. Berman, Wah Chiu, Gerard J. Kleywegt, and Catherine L. Lawson. (2012) Structure 20: 205-214.

The EMDataBank Resource and the wwPDB greatly appreciate the efforts of this Task Force.

Questions? info@wwpdb.org.